Georgia DUI Attempting to Elude a Police Officer
Georgia law states that drivers are obligated to pull over their vehicle immediately when signaled by an officer, whether by lights, sirens, hand signals, or voice. Failure to do so can result in an attempting to elude charge.
When pulling a person over on suspicion of DUI, the officer must be in uniform and have his or her badge on display. The patrol car must also display markings indicating that it is an official law enforcement vehicle. If an officer attempts to pull you over in an unmarked vehicle, you have a valid claim to contest your attempting to elude charge.
If convicted of a simple first misdemeanor offense of attempting to elude a police officer, you face a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail. While the judge cannot reduce it to less than 10 days, he or she may increase this sentence based on the circumstances of your case. You may also be fined $300 to $500. For a second offense, the fines range from $600 to $500 and for a third offense the fines will be increased to $1000 to $5000.
A felony offense may be charged if you were driving more than 10 miles per hour over the posted speed limit, left the state, or caused bodily harm while attempting to elude the police. The penalty for a felony offense includes one to five years in a state prison.
The penalties for DUI include at least 24 hours in jail (maximum of 12 months), large fines, court costs, community service, DUI School, and alcohol treatment. Your license may also be suspended for at least a year.
If you have been charged with a Georgia DUI attempting to elude a police officer offense, please contact Atlanta DUI Attorney Greg Willis today for a free, no-obligation case evaluation.
Call Us Today: (404) 835-5553
Receive a Free Case Evaluation Today!